Edinburgh new food discoveries

The Shrimp Wreck

If there’s a place you need to try when in Edinburgh, I will say The Shrimp Wreck is THE one. It’s a non pretentious shack by the beach in Portobello, selling fresh Scottish seafood, mainly fried, and in perfectly baked buns.

I went for the Crab Mac and Cheese and my friend joined me later for a Fish Fingers Roll. They were absolutely delicious! I would have just liked a bit more crab on my Mac & Cheese, but other than that I would give it a 10.

Unfortunately I only have pictures with Guy’s hands covering the whole bun, yes, they were irresistible! 😁

Fish Fingers roll at the Shrimp Wreck
Mac&Cheese with wild Scottish crab
Wild scallops at Portobello beach

Toast & Tea, Asian Sandwich Bar

Right next to Holyrood Park, on a side street to the Royal Mile, I stopped at this self check out bar for a rice-wich, after a lovely walk on Arthur’s Seat 🤩

I went for the Californian rice-wich, which came with crab, avocado, mayo and it was simply delicious. The only issue was the weed around the rice, which was quite dry and hard to break, but maybe I was unfortunate with that one because the taste and ingredients were fresh and delicious.

Got myself a grape juice too. I think there was a grape inside, I didn’t dare ask, but it was delicious, tasting a bit like an aloe vera juice, which I tried for the first time this year only, and of which I’ve become a big fan since.

Walking around Arthur’s Seat

Xiangbala hot pot, Dalry road

I have written about Xiangbala hot pot before, but I recently went back with my friend Itxaso who visited from the Basque country and had a huge craving for it (she had introduced it to me on her graduation and it was a staple for many years), and can confirm it is as good as it used to be. It’s actually the same as five years ago, nothing changed (except the price), and I love it even more for that.

Read more here for how this works!

Raw seafood ready to be dropped in the hot pot

Joseph Pierce, Elm Row

JP is an institution bar in Edinburgh – a simple and good drinks menu, laid back atmosphere, no frills. And great burgers for a tenner, hard to find these days, plus an unusual menu’s guest, deep-fried gherkins!

Laila, Antigua Street

I have secretly become a fan of this place, especially because of the food and menu, paired with great people watching onto the top of Leith Walk.

It’s the perfect place for brunch, but I’m really liking their dinner menu too, which is a fusion of Mediterranean/British food, with staples such as Fish and Chips, but also perfectly made vegetable tempura, bruschetta, steak and frites and much more.

And the most fantastic cocktails and huge glasses of prosecco!

Wow, writing this down made me realise how many places I’ve been to this year, and this is just a few of them! I will keep exploring a promise to post more about food discoveries in Edinburgh.

What’s your favorite place to eat in Edinburgh?

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

S.

3 thoughts on “Edinburgh new food discoveries

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.